It’s like cassettes to CDs all over again, or my “new” web site

December 28, 2010 — Leave a comment

Technology is at it again. Changing from one format to another, and now my web page is lost.

I didn’t know what I was doing on Dreamweaver or with IU’s secure file transfer protocol (my tech guy would be impressed at my vocab!), but I managed to make a cute little web site anyway. I bought my domain and figured out how to route it to the free IU hosting site. I put some information on it. See?

The web page formerly known as kelceyparker.com

And then, on the Ides of March, I decided to start a blog. (You are here.) Because blogs are getting more and more sophisticated, the blog plus web site seemed redundant, but I kept them both anyway.

Now, however, with IU’s new system that I don’t have the time or energy to (re)learn, and with my general dread of Dreamweaver (surely someone has already dubbed it Nightmareweaver??), I’m motivated to consolidate – to streamline! – my cyber life. I think it’s a good thing. I’m annoyed that it was forced upon me, but at last I feel like I can move all my stuff into one house.

Thus, I give you the new kelceyparker.com. Uh, right here. I’m working on some new posts about my winter break reading and my title for 2011, so stay tuned.

[Update 1/4/11: I really have created a new web page again. I liked consolidating, but I like having separate spheres better.]

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

