Making Literature

February 10, 2011 — Leave a comment

Before we have even recovered from AWP, we’re off to our next conference! By we, I mean my IUSB students and me.

I love the title of this conference – Making Literature. Sometimes I feel like what Creative Writing needs is a new name. Something with less of an Adjective-Noun construction and more of a Verb-Noun construction. Something that suggests our connection to a long-established tradition and speaks to our aims: making literature. Our goals are not merely to creatively write – we want to make literature.

I wonder what would happen if I said I was the Director of the Making Literature Program rather than the Director of the Creative Writing Program.

A couple universities have changed their language in interesting ways: Brown University has a Literary Arts Program; Tufts University and others have positions for Professors of the Practice of Poetry.

Anyway, stuff I think about.

Making Literature
Taylor University
February 10-12, 2011
The William A. Fry Undergraduate Conference
on Literature and Writing

I will give a reading on Friday and lead a fiction workshop on Saturday.

Here’s what the amazing students are up to:

McKenzie Tozan will read original poetry on a creative writing panel.

Hannah Stowe will read her paper on a literature panel: The World’s a Stage: Sheridan’s Defense of Theatrical Freedom in School for Scandal

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

