Mother’s Day Love

May 13, 2012 — 5 Comments

Today I witnessed the most intense form of love and gratitude for mothers. I watched my beautiful grandmother die. I watched my mother and her brother care for her round the clock. I watched them administer her medicines and clean her. I watched them stand over her bed and watched my mother stroke her hair as she died.

Yesterday I listened to my mother read her old letters that my grandfather wrote to his “dear Wifey” when he was overseas during WWII. In the letters he said he hoped they would be back together soon and be together forever. They were together until he died this past January, a week shy of their 70th anniversary.

It seems appropriate that my grandmother died this morning, on Mother’s Day. It also happens to be the birthday of her oldest son who died over thirty years ago. We all hope they are having a happy Mother’s Day reunion.

5 responses to Mother’s Day Love

  1. 

    I am so sorry for your loss.

  2. 

    I’m so sorry for your loss. I can tell your grandmother was instrumental in forging you into the woman/teacher you are today. She had a profound effect on you and will remain with you always. I’m sure she and her son are rejoicing in one anothers company now. I will keep your family in my prayers.

  3. 

    What a loving gift to honour your grandmother’s passing with such a beautiful tribute. My condolences to you and your family.

  4. 

    Thanks so much for the comments and support. I live 10 hours away (in Indiana) and am so glad I could I could be here (in PA) for these precious days.

Leave a Reply

