Book Giveaway: Celebrating Freshly Pressed

June 13, 2012 — 39 Comments

YAY!

Anne Germanacos and I were so excited to have our interview, “How Anne Germanacos Became a Writer,” featured on Freshly Pressed that we decided to celebrate by giving away signed copies of our books.

WIN A SIGNED COPY OF IN THE TIME OF THE GIRLS

First, Anne Germanacos will give away FIVE signed copies of her gorgeous story collection, In the Time of the Girls:

HOW TO ENTER

Update (6/14/12 at noon): Contest closed. Results posted here!

Post a comment on this post before Thursday, June 14 at 12:00 noon (Eastern time). That is in 24 hours from now. (Don’t know what to say in a comment? Tell us your favorite author or book.)

Your comment number will be your entry number. A Random Number Generator will select the FIVE winners.

One comment per person, please. With one exception: If you reblog this post or mention it on your blog, your pingback counts as an eligible second entry.

Stay tuned . . .  in a few days, I’ll give away signed copies of my short story collection, For Sale By Owner.

39 responses to Book Giveaway: Celebrating Freshly Pressed

  1. 

    I’ll be reblogging this to my blog so you hopefully can get larger numbers 🙂

  2. 

    It was thanks to freshly pressed that I found your blog. This interview was so inspiring and my intro to your work Kelcey…I’ve made a date withthis blog to continue reading your other How To Become A Writer posts, as well as everything else on tips for teaching writing…enjoying your blog, read you soon (wish me luck on the giveaway! ) Alexandra

  3. 

    favorite author: Natalie Goldberg
    soon to be favourite authors – you and Anne

  4. 

    Congratulations on being selected on Freshly Pressed – very inspiring interview, it fully deserved to be featured.

  5. 

    My current favorite author is Orson Scott Card. Just finishing CHILDREN OF THE MIND in the Ender series. I found you on Freshly Pressed too, congratulations!

  6. 

    I just finished reading The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo. I’m in the middle of The Girl who Played with Fire and have The Girl who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest waiting for me. I also have the Game of Thrones books waiting. I’ve caught up on J.D> Robb’s “In Death” series and finished V is for Vengeance by Sue Grafton. I’m also in the process of reading Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe.

  7. 

    I thought the lead off quote for the interview was beautifully insightful advice from an established writer. I posted the quote on my own blog and referred back to the interview and to the main site of phdincreativewriting. And now also following your blog!

    Can’t say I have a favorite writer – I’m in an equine mood right now and reading Seabiscuit by Lauren Hillenbrand. That’s after seeing the film…for the second time…

    – Jeff

  8. 

    For many, summer reading = breezy reading. Me? I choose the longest, most engrossing newish fiction I can find. Right now: Murakami’s ‘1Q84’. I enjoy many brilliant authors, but only a handful have ever struck me as entirely singular. He is one of them. Murakami has the subtlety of genius…he never quite knocks you off your feet but you’re always under a very unique trance. My perception of reality is always slightly tinged while reading him.

  9. 

    ReBlogged your interview. It actually answered questions I had about writing; some questions I wasn’t even asking yet.
    Favorite Author: of all time? C.S. Lewis. current writer? Donald Miller

  10. 

    Congrats on being a “Freshly Pressed” blogger. My favorite writer is Dave Meltzer, founder and editor of the Wrestling Observer Newsletter.

  11. 

    I reblogged your interview. It was quite inspiring for an aspiring writer. I would like to borrow your format for interviewing famous dancers.

    PS I also like the above Christian authors Chris Brooks listed. As for fiction I have read, Maria dos Santos is a favorite of mine.

  12. 

    Stumbling upon this quote in Freshly Pressed,
    “It takes a certain amount of will and courage to leave with regularity the circle of humanity in order to enact a kind of theft, which is one aspect of what the writing life seems to be.”, and seeing the strong eyes in the photo, compelled me to read the entire interview.
    Discovering there are actually authors in South Bend, Indiana, (not only in the South, the West, or New England), near my hometown, provided an incentive to read on.
    As a therapist, an observer on the sidelines of other people’s lives, I have spent decades writing clinical notes and personal journals; writings which have no audience. I find encouragement and inspiration in these interviews to transition to more public forums ( and forms) of writing.

  13. 

    I write a personal blog of both fiction and philosophy. I really enjoyed the interview, especially when Germanacos speaks on working with one’s doubts. Self-awareness and doubt are themes I am always interested in and they remain close to my own struggles as a writer. My favorite fiction authors are Marguerite Yourcenar for her moving eloquence and sensitivity, and Herman Hesse for his ability to put complex philosophical thought to fiction that is deeply personal. Hope for more interviews like this one soon!

  14. 

    Oh so wonderful, maybe I’ll be the lucky one 🙂 I’ve tweeted this also 🙂 Thank you !

  15. 

    Really enjoying your blog,am hoping eventually that a second career can involve & embrace writing. http://www.notquitesixtyreasons.wordpress.com

    Favourite author? Changes dependant on mood but Donna Tart and William Golding always feature highly.
    Favourite book (s)? Lord of the flies,I am legend ,secret history

  16. 

    Extra entries for sharing on twitter or facebook? 🙂

  17. 

    I found the interview so inspiring! Thank you for sharing such insightful advice.

  18. 

    This was such a great post i shared it will all of my facebook friends.

  19. 

    I think my favorite writer is Grace Paley.

    Also, thanks for your ongoing interviews; reading them always makes me feel better.

  20. 
    Annette Eberhardt June 13, 2012 at 5:33 pm

    I was asked this morning, by my son, what my favorite song was. I answered, “It depends.” “on what?” he asked. I said “If I want to be cheered up, or wallow in my misery, or escape, or dance, or relax, or reminisce…” The question was harder to answer than I thought. So to post here my favorite book or author, I would also say “it depends” for largely the same reasons. I will say the books I have probably read the most in my life and always revisit are the Little House books, but I don’t know if that necessarily makes them my favorite.

  21. 

    Tough call… I like a lot of cheap sci-fi and spy novels, so maybe I shouldn’t post my favourite authors on a literary blog! Let’s instead say my favourite book that I’ve read recently is called “Odori” and was the first recommended reading book for school that I’ve ever loved, let alone enjoyed reading. Love your blog, keep ’em coming!

  22. 

    Favorite authors?
    Hemingway, Cormac McCarthy, Chuck Palahniuk…

  23. 

    How can I say who my favourite author is? I haven’t stopped reading yet (and don’t intend to for many years to come), it is a different author for each genre I read, and it often depends upon what I’m currently reading or have just read AND I love some of an author’s books but not always all of them? I love Austen but hate Emma; Beatrice and Virgil blew me away but I’m not a fan of Life of Pi so Martel is out also, I’d find it hard to chose between Le Fanu and Poe and also Christie and Doyle, Tolkien would be pretty high up there, but then so would Woolf – all I can truly say is; I may be silent when I’m reading a book but you can’t stop me talking about something I’ve read.

  24. 

    I found your blog through freshly pressed, and really enjoyed your post. It was inspiring. I am an avid reader so I find it really difficult to pick one favorite author.

  25. 

    My favorite author is Toni Morrison.

  26. 

    I really have been enjoying reading your writer interview series! I also found your blog through freshly pressed, and had to follow.

  27. 

    I’m looking forward to reading Shadow of the Night when it comes out in July.

    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

  28. 

    I posted a link to the interview on http://www.jigsawjan.wordpress.com the moment I read it after seeing it on Freshly Pressed. So inspiring especially for aspiring writers like myself. Keep up the good work!

  29. 

    So glad your blog was Freshly Pressed! Thanks for the book giveaway fun! 🙂

  30. 

    Congrats and best wishes for continued success!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. How Anne Germanacos Became a Writer « ph.d. in creative writing - June 13, 2012

    […] Update June 13-14, 2012: Celebrating Freshly Pressed with a book giveaway! Click here for a chance to win a signed copy of Anne’s book. […]

  2. Gotta love free giveaways « @befaster - June 13, 2012

    […] you read this before Noon tomorrow (Eastern Time, 9am for us on the West Coast), head on over here and add your comment for your chance to […]

  3. And the winner is… « ph.d. in creative writing - June 14, 2012

    […] to these five winners of the book giveaway! Each winner receives a signed copy of In the Time of the Girls by Anne Germanacos. Thanks to all […]

  4. Another Book Giveaway: For Sale By Owner « ph.d. in creative writing - June 15, 2012

    […] away FIVE signed copies of her gorgeous story collection, In the Time of the Girls. The contest was here, and the winners were announced here. This is me a couple weeks ago in Ohiopyle, PA visiting Frank […]

  5. Freshly Pressed and sites you’ll love | Project 365 Challenge in 2012 - August 26, 2012

    […] #2 Celebrating Freshly Pressed by Kelcey Parker  […]

Leave a Reply

