Another Book Giveaway: For Sale By Owner

June 15, 2012 — 71 Comments

I’m giving away TWO signed copies of my book, For Sale By Owner. Starting…now! Contest runs from 12 noon today to 12 noon tomorrow (eastern time, June 15-16). You’ve got 24 hours to enter by posting a comment. Please post a comment. It’ll be embarrassing if no one wants a free copy of my book. Especially if all you have to do is post a comment.

Why am I giving away my book? No, it’s not because no one will buy it. Anne Germanacos and I were so excited to have our interview, “How Anne Germanacos Became a Writer,” featured on Freshly Pressed that we decided to celebrate by giving away signed copies of our books. Anne gave away FIVE signed copies of her gorgeous story collection, In the Time of the Girls. The contest was here, and the winners were announced here.

This is me a couple weeks ago in Ohiopyle, PA visiting Frank Lloyd Wright’s Fallingwater house. Where are you traveling?

HOW TO ENTER

Update 6/16/12: Contest closed. Thanks so much for entering! Results posted here.

Post a comment on this post before Saturday, June 16 at 12:00 noon (Eastern time). That is in 24 hours from now. (Don’t know what to say in a comment? Tell me where you have traveled, will travel, want to travel this year.)

Your comment number will be your entry number. A Random Number Generator will select the TWO winners. If only one person enters, that person gets both books. If no one enters, I will read both copies of my book, alone, with a bottle of wine. When the bottle is empty, I will fill it with my tears.

One comment per person, please. With one exception: If you reblog this post or mention it on your blog, your pingback counts as an eligible second entry.

ABOUT For Sale By Owner

In Kelcey Parker’s tales of twisted domesticity, a woman gives her family up for Lent; a mother finds redemption at Chuck E. Cheese; a former best-friend-forever wreaks baby shower havoc; a bride swallows a housefly at the altar; and a suburbanite’s obsession with memory books puts her family in jeopardy. These stories offer a contemporary and dryly funny view of marriage, parenting and loss. Fans of Lorrie Moore and Aimee Bender will find kinship in Parker’s wit, her generosity of spirit and the confidence of her voice. This debut collection marks the appearance of a writer with a blunt and beautiful perspective on family, home, and an evolving American subculture.

71 responses to Another Book Giveaway: For Sale By Owner

  1. 

    I want to go to Tuscany and Paris and the French countryside–I also want to win your book.

  2. 

    Bless you -what a lovely idea! And I am sure you will get plenty of comments, don’t worry. I never win anything in such things (not even at the school tombola, not even when I buy nearly all the tickets), so this is a completely disinterested comment. (or is it?) Your book sounds really interesting – you had me at the Lorrie Moore.

  3. 
    jacqueline dickey June 15, 2012 at 12:10 pm

    looks like i’m getting some competition here in the lottery…..computer do your thing. i REALLY wanna win! i’m traveling to my friend’s house in Edwardsburg. and to three oaks, michigan where i will be “crowned” the town’s poet laureate…..you are the cleverest, ms. kelsey..what a great idea!

  4. 

    I’m still dreaming of a trip to Prague. It’s got such a beautifully bizarre aesthetic, and so much history.

  5. 

    I read your book in Seoul, Korea, and loved it. I had an even greater time reading it–the upside down copy–on the subway. If I win this copy, I already know the person to whom I will give it. Hope all is well in South Bend! 🙂

  6. 

    Okay, but because you’re a tall drink of nom nom nom!

  7. 

    I LOVE your book!! This give-a-way is a good idea.

    This summer I will be making family memories as we drive to an island 4 1/2 hours north of Toronto from Ipswich, MA. From there we head to Lake Caspian in Vermont (via Ottawa and Montreal). Finally, to Tenants Harbor, Maine.

  8. 

    Yes yes yes! I love this blog.

  9. 
    Terrie Lynn Phillips June 15, 2012 at 12:20 pm

    I’m hoping to travel to Tennessee to see my sister, nephew, and brother-in-law. It will be the forst vacation I’ve taken since I was 10. If that doen’t work out we are hoping to travel to Ohio in August or September to see the Columbus Zoo.

  10. 

    Thank you for doing this!

  11. 

    I agree with Darcy 🙂 Hugs to you from the Ballards.

  12. 

    hooray! Such a great book, Kelsey!!

  13. 
    Branden Heineman June 15, 2012 at 12:26 pm

    Hope I win!

  14. 

    Comments are plentiful here! Well done for your book and for being Freshly Pressed!! Nice thought re giving a copy of your work! 🙂

  15. 
    Rebecca Gibson June 15, 2012 at 12:40 pm

    I love your book so much, I’ve read parts of it to people over the phone! Winning a copy would mean I get to make more people happy!

  16. 

    Awesome, congrats on the publication! Sounds like a really great collection.

    Hm. Traveling. I am definitely traveling to Cape May this summer, but I really want to go to North Carolina before the year is over!

  17. 

    You are awesome!!!!!! 🙂

  18. 

    i’ve “met” you through kelly and i loved your first book (that she shared with me). You are talented and an inspiration!! wahoo!

  19. 

    I would LOVE a copy of your book! Pick me! Pick me! With a new baby, traveling this year is a crazy adventure, but I’m so excited to spend a week at the beach with my 6 month old. Sans-Children travel plans include New Zealand, France and Spain.

  20. 

    I love your book and I’d like to win a copy so that I don’t have to keep lending mine to friends! I know sooner or later someone else is going to love it so much they’ll “forget” to give it back! 🙂

  21. 

    Super book! If only I had a second copy, I’d read it again.

  22. 

    i’m in line for my copy, please…

  23. 

    Oh! I actually need another copy of this. Dad took mine last year and I haven’t seen it since. I’m sure there’s some sort of “family” disqualification, though. You’re still the awesomest sister in the world!

    Regarding travel, today I’m going to Boulder. Saturday I’m biking around Denver on a pub crawl. Sunday I’m going to Evergreen for Father’s Day. I live the good life! 🙂

  24. 

    Ohiopyle, PA doesn’t sound like it could be a real place name…

  25. 

    Kelcey:

    Appreciate the chance to win your book!

    Regarding Wright’s Fallingwater, there’s a wonderfully computer animated video about the structure and building of the house:

    http://www.etereaestudios.com/docs_html/fallingwater_htm/fallingwater_movie_index.htm

    I forwarded this to a friend who teaches architecure and he forwarded on to his students.

    Would love to hear your impressions of the house and its environment!

    – Jeff

  26. 
    Doug J. Knoll June 15, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    Hi, Kelcey.

    I’ll be traveling to Chicago, IL tomorrow to visit with family for the day to celebrate my cousin’s and his wife’s official adoption of their son.

    And if money and time weren’t obstacles, I would love to visit Australia this summer.

    Anyway, I look forward to winning a copy of your book. 🙂 See ya around Facebook.

  27. 

    If things had gone according to plan, I’d be walking the Camino de Santiago in northern Spain, and would be somewhere near Burgos today. My achilles tendon had other vacation plans, however, mostly involving my ankle resting on top of a pillow, under ice, or in a splint. So, perhaps that trip across Spain will happen in the fall or next spring. For now, I have plenty of time to read!

  28. 

    Travel plans are thwarted at the moment as I recover from surgery and have to clop around on crutches. I’ll be happy to get back to Cincinnati later this summer.

  29. 

    My wife traveled to Uganda on a charity trip several years ago. This, above all others, is where I want to go someday. And bring our son so he sees something besides Los Angeles.

  30. 

    I am on my way to India this summer. It’s going to be a great photo expedition and I’ll do my best to get my blog going again…sure would be nice to have a cool book to read on my trip, something like For Sale By Owner, hint, hint.

  31. 

    See whether I win this time! My last big travel was living in France last summer. I didn’t have a weekend in my own bed that whole summer, always taking advantage of the proximity of Europe! I need to go back soon…..

  32. 

    I always listen to Donna Miscolta, so I’ll enter the contest and will read the book even if I don’t win.

  33. 

    Can’t wait to read your tales of “twisted domesticity.” Will the book permanently alter what people decide to give up for Lent?

  34. 

    I love your book. I also love your hat in the photo above. Nobody can rock a hat–or a book–like you, Parker. I mean it.

  35. 
    susan s carpenter June 15, 2012 at 1:44 pm

    Oh of course: LOTS of people want your book. If I win, I get to make a present of it to someone.

  36. 

    I saw you read at Miami and you were wonderful. Unfortunately, I didn’t have enough money to buy your book at the time, so give it to me!

  37. 

    Where don’t I want to go is more the question:) I dream of biking on a countryside and market shopping just about anywhere! I love this idea of a book giveaway & yours sounds EXACTLY up my alley. Many blessings.

  38. 

    looking forward to being able to read in my own hands!

  39. 

    I started following after you were on Fresh Pressed and am excited by the chance to read your fiction because the blog is great. If I’m lucky, I’ll read it in a hammock once I make it up to my cottage in NE Ontario this August.

  40. 

    In four short days, I will be traveling to Ireland for a 4-week long study abroad program. It’s always been a dream of mine to go to Ireland, and I am so exciting to have this opportunity. 🙂 Your book sounds like such a great read. I hope I can get a copy from you yourself. That would be so special. 🙂

  41. 

    What a wonderful idea! Congratulations on Freshly Pressed.

    To answer your questions, I would like to travel to the Netherlands, Ireland, the Dominican Republic, India and Japan. Actually, I’ll go anywhere that will take me. 🙂 I love learning about new places, new customs and most of all, new people.

  42. 

    I want! I want! As for travel: I will be going to east coast sites to be determined, starting with NYC.

  43. 
    Jessica Peri Chalmer June 15, 2012 at 3:04 pm

    Wow, I just posted w/o a name. Sorry. I am righting it, but giving myself two numbers, for which I am mostly sorry. Do with that what you will. I would love the book, tho.

  44. 

    Pick me! Pick me! Especially since I forgot to have you sign my copy while you were here!

  45. 

    I think I will like it. It’s is a good idea to give your book. It is like to “send your bread on the water, who knows, some day you will find it”

  46. 

    I love to travel but haven’t been to a lot of places in the last few years while kids are small. Hopefully next year we’ll brave the plane again. 7 hours to New York but that’s where we want to go as we love it.

  47. 

    I loved this book!!!

  48. 

    I SHALL BE THE CHOSEN! TIS BE A GOOD DAY FOR WINNING THE FREE BOUNDED PAPERS WITH WORDS PUT UPON THEM.

  49. 
    NotDarcysAwesomeFriend June 15, 2012 at 4:56 pm

    My destination of choice – Rahway, New Jersey.

  50. 

    I hope I’ll win, I’ve been looking forward to reading this book since you talked about it in class.

  51. 
    Nancy Engel-Golden, Colorado June 15, 2012 at 5:55 pm

    Great author who has amazing insight. A must read:)!

  52. 
    Annette Eberhardt June 15, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    well, I am the proud owner of a signed copy already, and am thrilled to see all the support for this awesome book! I am so, so, stinking sad that we will miss each other by days in Europe! We are taking a side trip to Prague, though, so maybe you will walk in our footsteps!

  53. 
    Karen Parker- June 15, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Love to go back to Hawaii again some day!

  54. 

    Brilliantly generous. 🙂

  55. 

    I want my MTV, er, I mean Kelcey Parker!

  56. 

    Congrats on your book, sounds like a fun read! Got Maui’d 11 years ago and NEED to go back! (With a signed copy of your book, of course.)

  57. 

    Reblogged this on Breathe, Laurie and commented:
    Looks like a fun read. Interested in reading more from Ms Parker!

  58. 

    Kelcey, Here’s hoping I win! (I’d like for my book club to read your book.) Cheers, Denise

  59. 

    Your stories are wonderful. I would love to give your book as a gift. We’re off to Germany and Switzerland this summer. Not complaining!

  60. 

    Hi there! I would love a copy of your book. I vacationed in Cuba during March and Florida with my family in April.

  61. 

    I can’t say I’ve read your stories, but I’d like to. I recently got back from traveling in England where I studied literature and the English language for three months at Oxford. Good times.

  62. 
    corrinestewartwrites June 15, 2012 at 9:55 pm

    I have just returned from a cruise celebrating my 50th birthday. What do you know? 50 IS nifty.
    coco

  63. 

    I want to travel to somewhere and anywhere that isn’t home.

  64. 

    How do I not have a copy of this already? I’d like a signed version, but if I don’t win, I’m getting it anyway. Woot.

  65. 

    Wow, so many comments! So many people would like to have your signed book, wonderful 🙂 I found your blog in freshly pressed. It was Anne G. photo that drew me in at first and then I really loved your writing, the questions you are asking the other writers and the overall approach of your site. Well done!

  66. 

    Looks like alot of competition for these two copies!

  67. 

    I’d like a copy!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Win a signed copy of Kelcey Parker’s ‘For Sale By Owner’! « white walls / black ink - June 15, 2012

    […] yourself a favor and wander over to the blog of author (and passionate professor) Kelcey Parker, where she is giving away two signed copies of her debut collection of short stories, ‘For […]

  2. Another from Kelcey Parker! « @befaster - June 15, 2012

    […] Better get on this if you want to win: Free Book Giveaway from Kelcey Parker […]

  3. Book Giveaway Winners of For Sale By Owner « ph.d. in creative writing - June 16, 2012

    […] without further ado, congratulations to these THREE winners of the book giveaway! Each winner receives a signed copy of my book, For Sale By […]

Leave a Reply

