The Barbaric AWP: A Song of Myself & 12,000 Others

March 21, 2013 — 4 Comments
The spotted hawk swoops by and accuses me, he complains
          of my gab and my loitering.
I too am not a bit tamed, I too am untranslatable,
I sound my barbaric yawp over the roofs of the world.
-Walt Whitman, Song of Myself
Last week I went to the AWP Writers’ Conference, where I guess I at least tried to sound my barbaric yawp over the roofs – of Boston.

IMG_0796

But I don’t know, it was kind of a fail for me. I’m not a big yawper. I didn’t have much to yawp about. And I got all lost in the shuffle of a DOZEN THOUSAND people. Nay, not just people. WRITERS. My favorite type of people, except when there are 12,000 of you. Them. Us. Maybe I just felt lost in the biodome/mall where it was held.

My highlights were:

1. seeing my long lost BFF who drove in for a visit of sushi and tapas
2. meeting my editors at Rose Metal Press for my next book and plotting the fall release
3. rooming with my partner in cosmos and crime and plotting all the ways we will transform the literary landscape.

4 responses to The Barbaric AWP: A Song of Myself & 12,000 Others

  1. 

    Wow! You felt lost but you were found by the perfect people (and the delicious meal)! Sounds like a wonderful trip 🙂

  2. 

    Ha, yes, thank you, Alexandra! I WAS found! 🙂

  3. 

    According to Kipling….’As the day wears and the impetus of the morning wears away, there will come upon you an overwhelming sense of the uselessness of your toil. This must be driven against.” ( The Judgement of Dungara)

    so.. enjoy your conference, good friend, nice meal and plans afoot….Best Wishes from a random blog writer

  4. 

    Thank you, Random Blog Writer! What a great quote. Puts it in perspective and inspires me at the same time!

Leave a Reply

