A reading at Drake University

November 13, 2012 — 3 Comments

I went to Des Moines, Iowa last week to give a reading at Drake University for the Writer’s Harvest Writers + Critics + Artists Event, at the Wesley House Gallery. I think it was my first time actually going to the state of Iowa. I know I’ve been through it (how else would I have made it from Cincinnati to Nebraska or Minnesota for my teenage soccer tournaments?), but I don’t think I’ve ever actually stopped and looked around.

I can now officially say that I am a huge fan of Des Moines, of Iowa, and of Drake University and all its wonderful people!

sculpture park in downtown des moines

I’m also a major a fan of the food (I had sushi for lunch and scalloped yumminess for dinner) and the Belgian beer. I sampled pretty much all the different varieties of Belgian beer while mustachioed Shakespeare watched over me.

In between eating and drinking, I did do some reading:

I’m the tall one.

Many thanks to Jennifer Perrine, Amy Letter, Kelsey Leppard, the Belgian Beer bartender, and everyone else who made my visit so fun!

This will not be my last trip to Iowa, as it is home of my favorite Pickers:

3 responses to A reading at Drake University

  1. 

    AHHHH!!!!! I wish I knew you were coming to Des Moines! I’m from there and graduated from Drake University this Spring. I’m subscribed to your blog because I find it very inspiring to read about how Writers became Writers. (I was very excited to read your blog on my Professor Jennifer Perrine!) Anyway, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here in Des Moines and at Drake University! Please do come back and visit!

  2. 

    Oh dear, Christine! That would have been so fun to meet you! Jennifer was a wonderful host during my visit, and I’m determined to get back to Iowa again. I’ll be sure to announce it in advance next time. Glad you like the interview series. I’ve got a great line-up for the next few months. Thanks for writing! – kelcey

  3. 

    YEAH!! Definitely come back and visit!! && I look forward to reading the writers you will be interviewing! It’s an AWESOME series you got goin’. Take care, Kelcey!

Leave a comment